Saturday, October 30, 2010

Traveling with my parents

Well, I guess it's time to go over the trips with my parents. This probably wont be too long! My parents got here on October 7th. 3 1/2 hour trip to Frankfurt in the dark was not very fun for me consider when it's dark in Germany, it's pitch black. So I picked them up and we stopped in the this little town on the way back and got coffee and a yumminess at this bakery. I wish I could live in that town, it was so cute and everyone was really nice. Got them home, gave them the grand tour and went and picked up my pup. Needless to say my dad loved Zeke!! They were like 2 pea's in a pod. My mom isn't really a dog person, but they got a long ok. The next day I took them to Amberg. Even after everything we saw, my dad still liked that town more then any other place. They walked around and dad had his first beer and my mom had her first glass of German wine. I do believe they were in heaven. Then I took them to have their first doner. Which is like a gyro, only better!!!! It was a nice easy day and got them used to the German atmosphere. On the 9th we were going to go to Nuremberg, which is my favorite city/town, but my dog sitter, even though told me she would be free, wasn't, so I gave them a town of my town and the other military town that is close. That is where mom and dad had there first taste of brats and sauerkraut and just german cuisine. Pretty much in heaven there too. Then we took a day off and just grilled out and such here. On the 11th through 13th we took our trip to the Black Forest. Actually got to go into my first massive, beautiful castle. I've seen then from the outside but haven't been able to go in. We took a tour, but the tour guide didn't speak english so it was in German and we had no idea what was going on. But it was still really amazing inside. We then went to find a hotel. Went into Stuttgart, me being retarted, didn't know how big that place was and we moved on to the next town. Which was still bigger then I thought, but we found a hotel and had a good nights sleep. The next day we started heading into the smaller town and the heart of the Black Forest. The autobahn was so crazy and kept stopping and but the gps on finding a different route and ended up taking this road that was... gorgeous. I really wish I hadn't been driving. My parents were having heart attacks! I don't even know how we found the road. We made it to triberg 2 hours later then I want because the road were so windy and crazy. But we had a delicious dinner in triberg and went to find a hotel. The ones in Triberg were way too expensive, so I was on the gps trying to find one outside Triberg so it wasn't so expensive and the thing sent us out into someone pasture. Quite amusing!!! On the way out to the pasture we passed a hotel so I had marked it on the GPS and we went back there. Turns out to be this adorable place with the nicest people that own it. My favorite type of hotel to stay at. We got our room and then went to the Triberg waterfall. And holy cow, beautiful!!! I really want to go hiking through the Black Forest, maybe when the hubby is home. We went back to the hotel after that and had a small dinner and some beer and wine. The man got us all slightly drunk and had us cracking up. We met an Australian couple and chatted with them for a bit, they were super nice and gave me a couple ideas for when hubby is home. Wednesday we went to the German clock museum and then stated heading back home. We hit a winery on the way back which turned out to be the highest winery in Germany and was actually really greatly priced and the wine is amazing. So I bought a couple bottles for when the hubby is home. He loves wine! Then went to find some place to eat and couldn't we at a gas station. I know weird. But they have like kitchens int there gas stations. I had some hot dog type thing and my parents had this steak thing. Got home around 6 and I complete crashed. I was so tired. Driving sure wears you out. haha! We took a day off and just hung around home. The next day we went to Prague. I love Prague!! Parents loved it. There really isn't much to say about Prague. It's beautiful and that's all you need to know!!! Prague was out last big trip! We took the next couple days off and did some things around here. The 18th was my birthday, We went to Nuremberg and walked around, then met up with a couple of my friends, ate dinner and then went to a pub called Finnagins. This is where my parents watched me get completely and told drunk!! It was a good time. One of my friends who never really drinks ended up throwing up, which always makes it a good night. After that we just kinda of hung around. The day before they left I took them back to Amberg and they had there last doner. That was a good time! Then I took them back to Frankfurt the next morning and sent them off. Didn't hit me that they were gone until I went to go to bed! But I'm going back to the states in a couple weeks so it wasn't too bad. The next day I was so tired, but sooo bored. They sure kept me busy. That is all for now.. I'm trying to figure out what to do today! Anyway everyone have a great Halloween!!!

Thursday, October 28, 2010

Today!!!

Today is going to my real first outdoor clean up of my very first actual house. I'm dreading and excited about it all at once. Zeke will enjoy being outside for the most the day though. I just wish I could leave him off the leash and he wouldn't take off. That is a new thing, I see it in his eyes now. He'll start to slowly walk toward the direction he wants to go, I will call him, he will look at me look back, look at me and look back then all at once all four feet are flying through the air and I'm scrambling to keep up. He used to never leave my side. And I would understand the running off if I never took him for walks or played with him, and he get's to run and play most of the day. The neighbor dog, she never gets played with and she listens better then Zeke does, and only a couple months older then him. But anywho, My trip to self help is going to be fun for them. It's supposed to be nice today so this should be good. I've still gotta call DPW to fix a few things in my house and I need to fix my car since my dad broke some it. I've gotta get all this stuff done by 15th of November. That is the day that I go back to the states and get to see my 4 year old niece, my cat, my brother, my best friends, and I'm so excited to tailgate at a Hawkeye game. And of course my parents, but I just saw then so it isn't quite as exciting, I do love them dearly!! My niece is the person that I'm most excited to see! She is the best thing to be brought into the earth. Her mother pasted away in June of this year, and my brother is doing a wonderful job raising that beautiful angel.. What do you say to a 4 year old when she asks about her mom, I know I try not to lie and just answer what she asks with confidence. She is amazing!!!! The best conversations I have had in my life have been with her. And she is very excited to see me, my parents and her "other grandma" say she talks about me all the time, which makes me feel delicious. Yes I said delicious. But anyway, I still need to blog about my trips with my parents. But I need to get busy with the outside. That is my gym today!! Have a great day everyone.

Saturday, October 16, 2010

It's been awhile...

It's been a long time since I've written in this. I don't know I just forgot about it. Lost a couple "followers", because of it, but what can you do? This is more for me anyway. No offense to anyone. A lot has gone on. The husband deployed, and can I say it's been an experience. The day he left we spent most of it cuddling and going over the last important things. We left the house and 10:45pm and sat at company till almost 2am. It was a long night, I held it together up until they called them to formation and really lost it in the car back home.I have issues with crying in front of people so I didn't completely break down till I was in the car and away from Company. Took me about an 1 1/2 to fall asleep on the couch and then I only slept a couple hours. Of course we had bought a puppy and he needed to be walked and played with so that forced me up and off the couch. I had trouble sleeping for about a week after that, and finally got back into a routine. Now I can't seem to want to get out of bed, but the puppy now almost 7 months old wont let me sleep past 9am. He's a good boy, and really has helped me. I love him to death and so far a pretty good replacement for a cuddle buddy. Although the real husband would be better. I spent a while putting the house together. We finally got our things a few weeks after he left so that kept me busy and still does. I'm having trouble getting things the way I want. But I did learn that I can put up curtain rods, put a new radio in the car, drill giant, unnecessary holes in the way to hang candle holder, and just all around take care of the things I wish I could pawn off on him. :) Let's see, what else... I'm helping coach the pee-wee soccer team, so assistant coach, with my friend who has 3 boys. That has been a lot of fun! The kids crack me up and that takes some time 2 times a week. My husband comes home in January for R&R, and we are very excited!!! I'm keeping myself busy until that time that's for sure. My parents are visiting until the 22nd of this month, my 25th birthday is on Monday, I'm going back to the states for Thanksgiving (very excited), and December is going to be full of getting ready for his visit and the German Christmas Markets. I'm sooooo looking forward to those! Hopefully I can get some sweet ass presents there. I know it's not proper so say 'sweet ass' in that type of sentence, but it seemed to fit. Then January, Is going to be GRRREAT!!! A whole 2 weeks with him, I'll take it. I don't know what I'm going to do next year when I have him for all the holidays and birthdays and just everything. Overwhelmed with joy, happiness, love, probably. Anyway I think I'm going to sign off for now. I'll write some more about my parents and I's trips a little later. Gutten Habin. Probably spelled that wrong, but you should be used to my horrible grammar and spelling by now. Good night!