Saturday, October 30, 2010
Traveling with my parents
Well, I guess it's time to go over the trips with my parents. This probably wont be too long! My parents got here on October 7th. 3 1/2 hour trip to Frankfurt in the dark was not very fun for me consider when it's dark in Germany, it's pitch black. So I picked them up and we stopped in the this little town on the way back and got coffee and a yumminess at this bakery. I wish I could live in that town, it was so cute and everyone was really nice. Got them home, gave them the grand tour and went and picked up my pup. Needless to say my dad loved Zeke!! They were like 2 pea's in a pod. My mom isn't really a dog person, but they got a long ok. The next day I took them to Amberg. Even after everything we saw, my dad still liked that town more then any other place. They walked around and dad had his first beer and my mom had her first glass of German wine. I do believe they were in heaven. Then I took them to have their first doner. Which is like a gyro, only better!!!! It was a nice easy day and got them used to the German atmosphere. On the 9th we were going to go to Nuremberg, which is my favorite city/town, but my dog sitter, even though told me she would be free, wasn't, so I gave them a town of my town and the other military town that is close. That is where mom and dad had there first taste of brats and sauerkraut and just german cuisine. Pretty much in heaven there too. Then we took a day off and just grilled out and such here. On the 11th through 13th we took our trip to the Black Forest. Actually got to go into my first massive, beautiful castle. I've seen then from the outside but haven't been able to go in. We took a tour, but the tour guide didn't speak english so it was in German and we had no idea what was going on. But it was still really amazing inside. We then went to find a hotel. Went into Stuttgart, me being retarted, didn't know how big that place was and we moved on to the next town. Which was still bigger then I thought, but we found a hotel and had a good nights sleep. The next day we started heading into the smaller town and the heart of the Black Forest. The autobahn was so crazy and kept stopping and but the gps on finding a different route and ended up taking this road that was... gorgeous. I really wish I hadn't been driving. My parents were having heart attacks! I don't even know how we found the road. We made it to triberg 2 hours later then I want because the road were so windy and crazy. But we had a delicious dinner in triberg and went to find a hotel. The ones in Triberg were way too expensive, so I was on the gps trying to find one outside Triberg so it wasn't so expensive and the thing sent us out into someone pasture. Quite amusing!!! On the way out to the pasture we passed a hotel so I had marked it on the GPS and we went back there. Turns out to be this adorable place with the nicest people that own it. My favorite type of hotel to stay at. We got our room and then went to the Triberg waterfall. And holy cow, beautiful!!! I really want to go hiking through the Black Forest, maybe when the hubby is home. We went back to the hotel after that and had a small dinner and some beer and wine. The man got us all slightly drunk and had us cracking up. We met an Australian couple and chatted with them for a bit, they were super nice and gave me a couple ideas for when hubby is home. Wednesday we went to the German clock museum and then stated heading back home. We hit a winery on the way back which turned out to be the highest winery in Germany and was actually really greatly priced and the wine is amazing. So I bought a couple bottles for when the hubby is home. He loves wine! Then went to find some place to eat and couldn't we at a gas station. I know weird. But they have like kitchens int there gas stations. I had some hot dog type thing and my parents had this steak thing. Got home around 6 and I complete crashed. I was so tired. Driving sure wears you out. haha! We took a day off and just hung around home. The next day we went to Prague. I love Prague!! Parents loved it. There really isn't much to say about Prague. It's beautiful and that's all you need to know!!! Prague was out last big trip! We took the next couple days off and did some things around here. The 18th was my birthday, We went to Nuremberg and walked around, then met up with a couple of my friends, ate dinner and then went to a pub called Finnagins. This is where my parents watched me get completely and told drunk!! It was a good time. One of my friends who never really drinks ended up throwing up, which always makes it a good night. After that we just kinda of hung around. The day before they left I took them back to Amberg and they had there last doner. That was a good time! Then I took them back to Frankfurt the next morning and sent them off. Didn't hit me that they were gone until I went to go to bed! But I'm going back to the states in a couple weeks so it wasn't too bad. The next day I was so tired, but sooo bored. They sure kept me busy. That is all for now.. I'm trying to figure out what to do today! Anyway everyone have a great Halloween!!!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment