Life of the Reif Wife
Saturday, January 7, 2012
Yumminess
This is going to be a slightly shorter post. I really am tired of looking at my computer screen so I shall post recipies tomorrow or Monday!
First to let you know how our meal was with the Brocoli. It was Yummy! I made steak with twice baked potatos and the brocoli recipie in the post before this. I have to say that I actually ate everything on my plate. The frozen brocoli worked well with the recipie and I'm excited to try it with fresh brocoli and real lemon and maybe some fresh basil this time.
The next night, I tried a new desert I got off the pinterest website and I will post that recipie later. It was chocolate peanut butter mini cheese cakes! So good! Very rich, so it's a good thing they mini, but I highly recomend them. I then made fried pickles with Ricotta, spinach stuffed chicken breast!. I will also post that recipie later. I thought it was delicious my husband however was too sure about it but I think I can mix it up to make it even better.
I don't know if anyone has ever made beef stroganof but I love it and it is one of my favorite meals. I will also post my recipie for that later. All the recipies for that I've seen online just don't sound as good, so I'm pretty happy with myself. Well actuallly my mom, cause it's her recipie. Anywho that is what I'm making tonight and I should get back to it! Post some new recipies soon!
Adria
Wednesday, January 4, 2012
A new start..
So I think I have decided to change up my blog. Instead of my crazy, weird pointless posts, I'm going to change it to meal adventures. I've really taken a shine to trying new recipies, as we both are getting sick of the same old thing. However, I'm going to have to start it next week. This week is getting rid of the old to bring in the new. Tonight steak, twiced baked potatos, and brocoli. However this brocoli has a twist to it. Here is the recipe. Sounds super yummy!
Preheat over to 425
4 to 5 pounds of fresh brocoli. However I don't have any and am using frozen. I'm thawing it in a colinder in the sink and then patting dry. If you have fresh brocoli and wash it dry throughly.
5 tbsp olive oil, I'm using less brocoli so I will cut it down to or 3. Just needs to coat the brocoli
1 1/2 tsp salt. As I said I'm using less brocoli and also my husband does not like salt so it will cut down as well
1/2 tsp pepper. I will be upping this, husband is a big fan of pepper.
4 cloves of garlic, peeled and sliced. I will be using 2 or 3 cloves
Toss all together on a cookie sheet and place in the oven
Back 20 to 25 mins until “crisp-tender and the tips of some of the florets are browned.”
When done pull out of oven. Zest with some lemon and sprinkle some of the juice on it. You can add some pine nut (yuck) and basil (out) and add some more Olive oil and fresh or not fresh parmesean Cheese.
This is motified a little. I'm pretty good and eyeballing and figuring things out with cooking so I hope you trust me.
With the twice baked potato I am going to add some sour cream when I mash the potato along with some garlic powder, garlic salt, garlic pepper, and oregano. I will let you know how everthing turns out. Actually this is the first time I'm making twiced baked potatos, usually the hubby does it, so it could be interesting. Also the first time with the brocoli!
Let you know tomorrow! Peace!
Tuesday, January 3, 2012
Moving and the Holidays
Yes we moved. Renovation and such and they are shuffeling people around. We actually moved in the unit right next door to our best friends. It's been really nice actually and we stay out each others way just enough! It's been weird however. The houses are all set up the same way except with this house everything is backwards. So it feel akward doing anything. Don't think this is ever going to feel like home, especially since I'm so excited to move to a new location. With the holidays and everything this week has been super busy. Not to mention Scott had CQ and wanted to sleep the day before we moved. I however, being a women wanted to get some stuff over to the house and get it unpacked so I had less to do the day of moving! Which it worked but Scott was tired and cranky and didn't want to help and didn't understand. So that was a fun day and we ended up arguing a little. The day of moving always stresses me out and Scott said some stuff that didn't make any sense to his usual logic and I got mad at him. It was an interesting time. But we are in and almost settled.
New Year's was great. I didn't actually drink that much and got super sick the next day. I was pretty much hanging over the toilet all day. So this is the third or fourth time I've gotten super sick after drinking, so I think I'm done drinking for a while. I don't know if you can develop an alergy to alcohol or what. I never really drink all that much, half the time I have a drink or 2 or not at all. Switzerland was the first time I've gotten super drunk in 2 months. So I think I may head to the doctor to make sure nothing else is wrong. But I had a lot of fun and GOT TO KISS MY HUSBAND AT MIDNIGHT!!! I was so happy!!!! First time in 4 years! So awesome!!!
A sight everyone should check out is pinterest.com! So many cool craft and recipe idea's! If you are creative and or looking for idea for yourself or with your kids, or want to try some new yummy recipes, definitely check it out. I think I'm going to go and finish cleaning the upstairs now! Everyone have a good day!
Adria
Saturday, December 24, 2011
Switzerland, Christmas, and other things
I'm first going to start with my rant! I'm just getting so irritated with how this goes like every time. I do consider myself a nice person and I have no quarums with listening to other peoples cool stories, about their trips, things that happen to them. I like it! I like to hear about other peoples expirences, it gives me ideas. However, I do not like it when I share something and people have to turn it on themselves and speak to me as if their story is better and what I say is second to everything they have done or the expirences they have had. It's happening a lot lately. Can I please just share something and have it just be left at that. Example one. My niece said something to a cashier and I shared it on facebook. Here is the quote.
"Riley calls me Grandma, the cashier says "You're her Grandma?! I though you were her Mom" Riley says my Mom is dead. The cashier says I'm so sorry. Riley says "it's OK, she's in my heart". "
This is the response I get from anyomous
My grandson Bryce was shopping with his mom and walked by Christmas cards and wanted to look at them,he told her he wanted to get grammie one ,picked one out with gingerbread on it and says grammie will like it ,my kitchen has gingerbread men in it for Christmas lol ,i love it.
Now mind you this is a relative, I know Bryce and his mom very well and yet I get talked to like I'm an idiot. Also this has nothing to do with my post. Is it better what he said about his grammie. Yes my niece mom has passed away and to have that strength to say that is amazing, not talking about cards. Maybe to other people this doesn't sound so bad, but it bothered me because it's a regular thing from this person. Alway much better for them when they something with so much less impact. WHATEVER.
Example Two. Scott and I had our 2 year Anniversary on the 22. YAY for us right? Not perticularly
Again a facebook example, but with how far away I am from everyone it happens on facebook a lot.
I announce the anniversary on facebook, wish Scott and happy one and anyomous says (not direct quote),
Two years ago I watched you get married and was skinny now I'm prego.
Really? Come on!!! Yes I'm really happy this person is expecting, actually I could not be happier for her! However why does it have to get turned around onto someone else. That was Scott and I's day not to annouce that you are pregnant again. It's like she's rubbing it in my face that she got pregnant before me. However, this is Scott and I choice to wait so it can't be that.
Not to mention the phone conversations. Don't ask if you don't care and just want to change the subject. I'm sick of our adventures being pushed to the side. I hate being asked something and have it pushed aside and something else brought up. That's why we don't talk much. Not only because of that, but because I don't really care anymore about your stupid drama that you think is important. I don't want to listen to you repeat yourself over and over because you have nothing better going on in your life then problems. It's petty, annoying, and depressing. How come you do not care about how your close relatives are doing? Then Please don't even ask. I guarentee that when we talk to you we will not even ask about our trip to Switzerland. And if you do, we will say it was really beautiful and you will change the subject. Makes me sad and it hurts me for husband since now he's so immune to your bull that I'm baring the burden for him and I want you guys to care just a little bit more! PLEASE!! He's trying so hard to be the best person he can, acknowledge that!!!
I guess this is already really long so I will write about our trip and Christmas later.
MERRY CHRISTMAS!!! Even though this isn't much of a holiday spirit letter I still wish everyone a great holiday and again MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!!!
Saturday, December 17, 2011
Silly blogs...
You know no one cares what you have to say when you ask for something and get no response. However I will continue to blog because I like too. I may have nothing interesting of fun to say but it's a good way to relieve my.. whatever I have that makes so sensative.
Went to Amberg today with some friends and got my wood for a project I want to start. I saw it on youtube and will post the link at the bottom. It's a great idea for pictures and am excited to get these started for our next house are our next duty station. We got our pictures taken professionally and plan on sticking those up along with some from our travels. The wood is for shelves but my lovely husand is going to help me and cut it down to size. Shouldn't be hard to find the same color and style in the states. Of course we had to go to Mcdonalds for my friend who absolutely obessed with it and I'm still stuffed! I really love that city. My favorite town still to this day, even after everwhere we've been. Smoked some hooka and just chilled. It was a nice day and fun to get away for post for bit.
Going to take another friend some homemade chicken soup tonight. Colds around here are like ants. They are everywhere and we got to keep eachother healthy and such. Her husband is off snowboarding so I'm going to help the little lady out. :) Tomorrow I'm going to finally finish the laundry and we are heading to Switzerland. Very super excited!!! Hopefully we get some help at our hotel doing the things we wanted to do. Such as the dog sledding and Sledge run. We called about the sledge run and the people didn't speak english so I emaile in German and French and have not gotten a response. Very frustrating. But Yea, front desk should be able to help I really really hope. Anywho, I'm off to heat up some soup! Have a good night everyone.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_NjYbAAQ4vw&list=FLkJVTzhkzPWMsrqorxr1LRg&index=1&feature=plpp_video
Tuesday, December 13, 2011
And it starts...
Well, not super excited about this but we have to move buildings! They are renovating and rotating people around to get it all done by 2013. Crazy part is, is we pcs in April. So I get to not unpack and live in a place that does feel like home for ever longer. The good part is we get a dislocation check and that will be nice after the holdays. I guess I'm just upset because I've lived in this house longer then any other place in the last 5 years and I really got comfortable. I guess I don't really have to worry about packing for PCS but I still like having my stuff around me. I guess I should look on the plus. Everything is already packed and ready to go and this place should get too messy and it will be easier to clean. Ahh the little things.
Next, I'm the treasurer for the FRG and I made my first mistake in the 5 months I've had this position. I feel horrible and this feeling in the pit of my stomach will not go away. I can't fix it and I can't figure out what happened so hopefully I will get a free pass and I will never do it again. However I am trying to hand over my position since we are working on leaving! I just wish I could go back to that day and fix it cause time travel is the only way to fix it. I don't know what to say and the new CO is very dry and hard to read his feeling towards this. Plus, since he's new this is like his first impression of me and it's not a good one! AHH!
Now, the good news. Switzerland! Yea we are going to Switzerland and I'm super excited. Probably our last big trip while we are here and I'm excited to expirence it! We were trying to go Dog Sledding but the lady will not email or call me back and so I cannot get a reservation. Maybe someone can help me while we are there but I don't know. But we get to see a different Christmas market and we are going to do a sledge run. What is that you ask.. Well I will tell you. You sled down the mountian for 7.2 km! SWEET!!! The one I'm trying to get a reservation for is Night sledging and Fondue. You get fondue at the beginning and then the sled rental and lift ticket. At the end you drink mulled wine and relax! All for a whopping 60 bucks! NICE!!!!
Anybody out there have some interesting recipes for me!! I like trying new recipes baking and otherwise and love when people share ideas they made up or found in some crazy place. Feel free to comment and let me know!! We love food!! YUM!
Next, I'm the treasurer for the FRG and I made my first mistake in the 5 months I've had this position. I feel horrible and this feeling in the pit of my stomach will not go away. I can't fix it and I can't figure out what happened so hopefully I will get a free pass and I will never do it again. However I am trying to hand over my position since we are working on leaving! I just wish I could go back to that day and fix it cause time travel is the only way to fix it. I don't know what to say and the new CO is very dry and hard to read his feeling towards this. Plus, since he's new this is like his first impression of me and it's not a good one! AHH!
Now, the good news. Switzerland! Yea we are going to Switzerland and I'm super excited. Probably our last big trip while we are here and I'm excited to expirence it! We were trying to go Dog Sledding but the lady will not email or call me back and so I cannot get a reservation. Maybe someone can help me while we are there but I don't know. But we get to see a different Christmas market and we are going to do a sledge run. What is that you ask.. Well I will tell you. You sled down the mountian for 7.2 km! SWEET!!! The one I'm trying to get a reservation for is Night sledging and Fondue. You get fondue at the beginning and then the sled rental and lift ticket. At the end you drink mulled wine and relax! All for a whopping 60 bucks! NICE!!!!
Anybody out there have some interesting recipes for me!! I like trying new recipes baking and otherwise and love when people share ideas they made up or found in some crazy place. Feel free to comment and let me know!! We love food!! YUM!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)